User Guide: What is Google Photos Chat?

0
24
get-chat-feature-on-google-photos

In 2019 Google declared that Photos had crossed the devotional 1 billion users milestone becoming its ninth product to do so. Many smartphone users already know all about the blessing that is Google Photos. But if you’re only finding out about the free app, there are a few things you must know.

Things To Know:

Firstly, it is one of the most versatile gallery apps out there. It is fully capable of whatever stock gallery app you’re using. Secondly, it offers unlimited free storage for your videos and photos, as long as your photos and videos don’t go above 16MP and 1080P, respectively.

These two factors have already made Google Photos one of the most-used applications in the world. But still, Google believes there’s room for improvement. Google is introducing a new private messaging feature on all platforms — Android, iOS, and Web.

What is Chat in Google Photos

photos-sharing

Google Photos automatically take backs up of all the photos in your stock gallery app. But there are still a few photos, that don’t make their way into Google’s repository. So, in an attempt to cure the situation, Google has introduced private messaging in the app, which allows you to share your photos with any individual or group in a heartbeat.

How to use Chat in Google Photos

Follow these simple steps carefully to start sharing your photos:

Step 1:

Firstly open the Google Photos app. Now, open any photo.

Step 2:

Now click on the share icon at the bottom-left corner.

Step 3:

Select recipients.

Step 4:

Add Message (optional)

Step 5:

Hit the Send button.

After sharing, and creating a thread, participants can share more images/videos, like posts, add comments, and even chat directly. As you’d expect, participants of a group can see each other’s contact names.

You can access an open thread by going into the Sharing tab.

What can you share in Chat

Everything you can store, you can share means both photos and videos. To share a video, simply follow the steps mentioned in the previous section.

What’s the quality of photos and videos

Google Photos maintain default backup quality. If you were backing up in High quality, your photos will be shared in high quality, as well. If you have an option to Express, your photos will have a lower resolution.

If you want to change backup image quality, go to Google Photos Settings > Backup & sync > Backup mode > Choose from High quality or Express.

How it is different from live albums, shared albums and shared libraries

google-photos-chat-feature-2-1

As Google explains that this new private messaging option is more straightforward and social. Most of us like to have the option of sharing immediately, especially when we are considering a single snap. Creating a shared album or library, with pre-selected participants, you can feel a lot more boring on such occasions.

Can you group share in this?

Yes, group sharing has also made simpler in Google Photos. While sharing a photo/video, simply choose the participants, add an optional message, and start chatting. You can also add participants by clicking on the ‘+’ icon adjacent to the last group member’s name.

How to download photos and videos from chat?

Saving a photo/video from a private conversation is also simple and straightforward. Just tap and hold a photo, go to the three-doted menu, and save to device. The photo will be ready for offline viewing in your gallery.

For more questions and queries let us know in the comment section below!

Also Read: Why Files Should be Your Default File Manager?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here